The World’s Best Banana Bread Recipe

Standard

There is nothing that reminds me more of home than my mom’s banana bread. It is moist, sweet, and just utter perfection. My mom would make her banana bread often for us growing up and I have continued to make it whenever I find myself with overly ripe bananas or when I’m just craving its deliciousness.  This recipe has been a family secret for years but my mom was gracious enough to let us share it this one time with our Savory Sisters readers. Enjoy!

Ingredients (for one loaf):

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter

3 very ripe mashed bananas

2 eggs well beaten

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

Now let’s make the world’s best banana bread!

Cream together sugar and butter. Add banana, eggs and vanilla.

In a separate bowl mix flour, salt and baking soda.

Blend flour mix into banana mix but don’t over mix.

Turn batter into a greased 9x5x3inch pan. Preheat oven to 350. Bake for 55 minutes or toothpick test.

Ladies and gentleman, let me introduce you to the world’s best banana bread! So my mom’s recipe says to turn out the loaf and let it cool completely. But I don’t have the patience for that. I’ve already spent the past 55 minutes just staring at the oven. There is no way I am waiting any longer for banana bread. So I cut myself a slice.

And yes, it is falling apart because I didn’t let it cool but I am going for taste and not presentation. The bread is so moist and the chunks of banana are warm gooey goodness. A slice of this bread and a cup of coffee…I’m in heaven. Thank you mom for the recipe!

29 thoughts on “The World’s Best Banana Bread Recipe

  1. Rich Rediker

    The ideal time to eat this amazing banana bread is between 5 and 20 minutes after it has come out of the oven with the ends being my favorites. In this interval, the outside has some crispyness and the bread is warm and moist.

    • I made this recently and found it to be just the way I like it! A little crusty on the outside and deliciously moist on the inside. This is now “my banana bread recipe” lol thank you

  2. Laurie G.

    It is the best banana bread I have ever made and I feel guilty saying that as I always thought it was my Granny’s that was the best. My girls wouldn’t stop eating it.

  3. Naomi F

    I have made this a handfull of times always hoping that I get more than one slice! My 3 boys gobble it up! Thanks for the BEST ever banana bread recipe!

  4. Chantella

    I had the biggest urge for banana bread and this recipe made my day! We sprinkled some crushed almonds and a little bit of brown sugar on top, it was absolutely delicious, but disappeared way too fast 🙂 Great recipe!

  5. Today I learned that I actually like banana bread– well, specifically this recipe! I don’t even like bananas, but I made this today and holy crap I just want to eat the whole thing. Restraint! Thank you for posting this!:)

  6. So I am now a believer that this just may be “the world’s best banana bread recipe.” I made this because I had been searching through Pinterest to find a good banana bread recipe.

    I did make some changes to this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and a few pinches of pumpkin spice.

    When I first removed the bread from the oven, I was a little disappointed because the top of it did not rise into the nice concave shape that I was expecting. However, once I had my first bite, I knew that this was a success. The top had gotten a little bit crispy (anyone who loves “edge” pieces will appreciate this!) which was delicious, and the inside was nice and moist.

    Thanks!

    • Guy

      I made two batches, the only difference was with the second batch I added 1/4 of sour cream and a handful of Pecans. The batch with the sour cream had a nice plump convex top. The original batch’s top was a bit flatter. Both were very good. Thanks for the easy recipe.

    • Hi Cor – sorry for the delayed response but we’ve been quite busy these past couple years and are finally getting back to Savory Sisters! We tend to leave it in the pan until it’s completely cool if we can help it. Though it may crumble apart when it’s warm it’s in its most delicious state then 🙂

  7. Sherri

    Just got done making, couldn’t wait for it to cool this is amazing! I could eat the whole thing. Can’t wait to try some of your other recipes.

  8. Deb

    Truly the best banana bread EVER! I made muffins so I wouldn’t have to wait as long to try it. The butter makes all the difference. I think I will be adjusting my carrot loaf cake recipe to make room for butter instead of oil. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

  9. Candace Neumeier

    A great recipe. I let it cool for 30 minutes and removed it from the pan. It was perfect. I also added some pecans and it even made it better. Very easy.

  10. Just finished baking this banana bread it’s FANTASTIC absolutely delicious, easy had very ripe bananas and it’s so moist you can’t stop eating it.The only thing I Wil change is lowering the heat a little I used glass bread pans and I think it was a little to dark..Thank you for sharing this recipe it’s perfect.

  11. Lucia

    You have an awesome mom!! I love baking my mom’s recipes so I’m going to make 2 of these loaves and give one to her & guess I will need to bake them separately since one loaf pan is glass the other is non stick aluminum loaf pan. My mom adds sour cream to her banana bread recipe for moistness. I’m really looking forward to baking this tomorrow! Thx for sharing your mom’s recipe! xoxo

  12. Kayci

    Hi, I’ve been using this fantastic recipe for years and just wanted to say thanks for all the lbs. Totally worth it.

Leave a comment